First week back working and a day to yourself

I've not been talking about the last half a year (or potentially longer time period) here on this format, but a a disclaimer for what's to come, I've been going and likely still am going through a burnout.

Why that happened should probably be another post and also all the little steps I've taken so far.

One step or action I continue to focus on and give myself the space to is not to be "efficient or effective" with my spare time. Granted, easy for me to say considering I've been not full time employed recently.

But, I started a freelance gig and potentially will join this or another company in the foreseeable future.

I am writing this after the first week. If there is a book I would be a great fit to write it would be "how to get back into your burnout as fast as possible". Bit of irony here, but I set a meeting myself for Thursday highly underestimating how long it would take me to prep - but I wanted to have the check in at that time to then be able to move on and wrap it up before the week ends. And because I pride myself in being reliable, I worked through the night and only slept 4 hrs.

Self talk: Great first week and healthy habits - you're doing great and have your shit really back in order haha

Ok, I can take it with a smile now and with the more mental space available am actually more able to feel differences from the week before and the week working now. So two main learnings: 

1) wrap up every day, what happened and what's to come tomorrow. I've noticed that the first two days i didnt do that and my mind kept wondering and thinking about the next day. To stay healthy, I don't want my life to evolve around work and especially if I am not at work, not thinking about it or to rephrase: not being able to control when I think about it and having a clear end of the work day helps me with it.

2) No one asked me to make the meeting on Thursday. So don't rush, it does not matter if a day earlier or later. Do good work and it takes however long it takes (yes 80/20 rule, pareto law etc) - just be a bit easier on yourself and don't dig your own whole.


More importantly, I knew that I will make a cut and 100% not work on Friday. This is what I call "Patrik's day" from now on. I will only do what I want to do on that day. I don't care about taxes, errands etc. I might still do them, but only if I decide to do them, but I have 0 responsibilities on that day. This makes me remember that this is what matters. No other shit, just watching out for you and constant reminder that one doesn't need to follow other people's agenda, but just your own.  (yes, more nuanced, relationship, partners etc - but guess you get the point).


Also, been doing yoga again every morning and stretching while also reminding me every day that what matters happens outside of work.